Search Results

(321 - 340 of 983)
ID
ourstories:10549
Year
1939
Title
Pinkerton School
Description
S.S. #11 Back Row (l-r): Peter Meher, Alex Hudyma, Gordon Riley, Gerald Hosegood, Allen Horner, Teacher Miss Ruby Metcalfe, Annie Powalski, Alice Fenn, Kathleen Hosegood. Front Row (l-r): Bob McKinley, Gerald Fenn, Elliott Workman, Allen Hodgson, Dora Hosegood, Lorna Fenn, Joan McKinley, Irene Riley, Jean Davis, Georgina Davis.
ID
ourstories:3611
Year
1930
Title
Bethesda School
Description
Bethesda School on the North Half of Lot 6, Concession #3, SS #2. , IHS542
ID
ourstories:4416
Year
1965
Title
Holly School 1965
Description
Holly School 1965: Front row: ----, Ronald Morrow, ----,--- Eccles, Mark Vierra, ----, ---, Leslie Sanders, Kevin Little, ----, Second row: ----, Richard Harvey, John Leighton, Gwen Ury, Fred Birnie, Ralph Peterson, ----, ---- Third row: ----, Roger Emms, ----, --Alford, --- Petersen, Douglas Sanders, Sonya King, Pat Miller (teacher) Schools -Holly , IHS709
ID
ourstories:10446
Year
1911
Title
Gilford School
Description
Back Row (l-r): Mildred Mattenley, Lois Booth, Margaret Nesbitt, Luella Roberts, Miss I. Foerter, Libbie Neilly, Annie Breen, Virgie Bell, Louisa Pike. Middle Row (l-r): Kathleen Elain, Olive Steers, Beatrice Irwin, Hazel Archer, ? Burton, Harvey Coulter, Leo Gibbons, Jimmie Nesbitt, Leonard Gibbons. Front Row (l-r): Kathleen Neilly, Marjorie Canning, Norma Mattenley, Etta Neilly, George Nesbitt, Douglas Booth, Earl Archer, Ben Steers, Norman Plant. Front: Mary Graham, John Doolittle.
ID
ourstories:10859
Year
1967
Title
Springdale School Float
Description
Springdale Christian School float in the Centennial Parade in 1967.
ID
ourstories:10908
Year
Title
Middleton School
Description
Following the 1959 consolidation of rural schools in West Gwillimbury Township, this S. S. #6 school, built in 1906, became a private residence.
ID
ourstories:10562
Year
1936
Title
West Gwillimbury School
Description
S.S. # 4 Back Row (l-r): Bus Culbert, Bruce Turner, Helen Brown, Kathleen Gallinger, Clarence Baynes, Freda Doane, George Brown. Middle Row (l-r): Douglas Turner, Charlie Doane, Ileen Coutts, Mary McKay, Stanley Brown, Dorothy Turner, Norman McKay, Evelyn Doane and Arthur Turner. Front Row (l-r): Keith Coutts, Ruth Baynes, Jack Doane and Margaret McKay.
ID
ourstories:4230
Year
Title
Cookstown Public School
Description
Photo of Cookstown Public School's exterior. The front of the building is bordered by a picket fence and two trees, and the building itself features a belfry. The first school in Cookstown was a small log cabin built in 1852 but by 1864 was too small to accommodate the growing number of students. A quarter acre of land was purchased on Lot 2 Concession 11 for $80 where a frame building was constructed. It later moved to Lot 1 Concession 11. In 1888 a new school was built on the corner of Wellington and George Streets, and remodelled in 1913 for use as both a public school and continuation school. The three rooms on the main floor were used for grades one to eight and two rooms on the second floor for grades nine to twelve. The continuation school closed in 1951 and students were bused to Banting Memorial High School in Alliston, although elementary students continued to use the building until 1959.,
ID
ourstories:3803
Year
1894
Title
Ross' School - 1894
Description
Top Row: O Patterson, F Apperley, F McFadden, B Adams, J Campbell, S Nixon, H Purchase, C Jebb, Will Ross (Teacher) 2nd Row: L Graham, L McFadden, M Graham, K Graham, N Chamberlain, E Murday, E Apperley 3rd Row: H Nixon, N Ross, L Kidd, B Campbell, M Graham, M Purchase, M McFadden 4th Row: W Kell, L Speck, B Purchase, A Graham, S Patterson, H Gibson, C Nixon, C Kell Bottom Row: H Apperley, B Graham, B Arnold, N Campbell, J Purchase, A Purchase, S Wood, J Parks,
ID
ourstories:3872
Year
1929
Title
Knock School 1929
Description
Public School Daily Register - Knock School SS#15 Teacher May Allen Further information is available at Knock Document Centre. , IHS1214
ID
ourstories:5055
Year
1920
Title
Knock School, Innisfil
Description
(A) This Knock School Photo Shows the Knock Grange Hall and shed for horses in the background. Back Row:___.Bruce Wice, Tom Bowman, Clarence Allen, ___,___,___,___,Joe Cochrane, Front Row:___,___,Ruby Wice,___,___,___,Marjorie Bowman, Audrey Bowman Further information is available at the Knock Heritage Site , IHS3906
ID
ourstories:10704
Year
Title
Mount Pleasant School
Description
Florence S., Maria E., Annie B., Betty S., Laura B., Ruth B., Jean Arnold and Helen Clubine.
ID
ourstories:5138
Year
1949
Title
Killyleagh School - 1949
Description
This is a photograph of all the boys who attended Killyleagh School in June of 1949. Back row: Bob Ellis, Hoyle Campbell, Art Lagace Front row: Wallace Black, John Sjerps, Ted Corbett, Glenn Lagace, Jack Shea, Ray Sutton, Danny Shea. , IHS3879
ID
ourstories:3983
Year
Title
Cookstown Public School
Description
Photo of Cookstown Public School at an unknown date. The image shows one side of the building, partially obscured by trees. It is two storeys tall with rounded arch windows in the first storey, rectangular windows in the second storey, and the bell tower is just visible on the hipped roof. The building eventually was converted into apartments known as Cookstown Towers. The first school in Cookstown was a small log cabin built in 1852 but by 1864 was too small to accommodate the growing number of students. A quarter acre of land was purchased on Lot 2 Concession 11 for $80 where a frame building was constructed. It later moved to Lot 1 Concession 11. In 1888 a new school was built on the corner of Wellington and George Streets, and remodelled in 1913 for use as both a public school and continuation school. The three rooms on the main floor were used for grades one to eight and two rooms on the second floor for grades nine to twelve. The continuation school closed in 1951 and students were bused to Banting Memorial High School in Alliston, although elementary students continued to use the building until 1959.,
ID
ourstories:4893
Year
1910
Title
School-Lefroy Public School & Lefroy Presbyterian Church
Description
Newspper clipping showing Lefroy schoolhouse and Presbyterian church. Valerie Waddington of Lefroy sent us this week's photo of the brick schoolhouse and the white Presbyterian church in the days before the First World War. The church has long since been demolished and replaced by a school now used by the Sheila Morrison group. The brick schoolhouse is still standing, but is not being used. Further information is available at the Knock Heritage Site , IHS3545
ID
ourstories:8753
Year
1906
Title
Steele's Corners School, 1906
Description
Steele's Corners School S.S.#14 - 1906 Front Row: Harry Williams, Edgar Bateman, Dorothy Bell, Majorie Bell, Margaret Thorpe, Helen Ritchie, Lara Kneeshaw, Addie Brown, Ethel Brown, Lillian Parks, Alicia Agnew Second Row: Norman Brown, Linwood Sturgeon, Chas. Cronan, Ewart Kneeshaw, Laurence Brown, Leslie Agnew, Mildred Bateman, Lila Brown, Beatrice Brown, Aggie Hart, Ella Agnew, Clara Brown, Miss Hill (teacher from Alliston) Third Row: Ollie Steele, Flossie Brown, Marion Ritchie, Helen Bateman, Jennie Ritchie, Clara Bell Fourth Row: Billie Sturgeon, Edgar Kneeshaw, Harold Bell, Aubrey Steele, Joe Cronan, Freddie Wilcox, Fred Bateman, Clarence Bell, Ross Bell, Tom Hart
ID
ourstories:5057
Year
1942
Title
Secondary School Register - Lefroy
Description
Lefroy Continuation School Register of Daily Attendance - September 1942 to June 1943 Forms 1X and X , IHS3536325-645
ID
ourstories:4014
Year
1925
Title
Bethesda School SS#2
Description
Bethesda School SS #2, North Half Lot 6, Concession 3, Pupils: l. Mary Leighton 2. Vera Marling 3. Jim Leighton 4. Ormond Marling 5. Raymond McMaster 6. Irving Cooper 7. Lila Rainey 8. Edna Marling 9. Jean Rainey 10. George Moir 11. Ethel Thompson 12. Earl McMaster 13. Warner Thompson 14. Orville Smith 15. Jack Webster 16. Carl Copeland 17. Jean Trotter 18. Dorothy Scott (teacher) 19. May Trotter 20. Irene McMaster 21. Minnie Rainey 22. Marjorie Eldridge 23. Mary Hillock 24. Herman Rainey 25. Wesley Hindle 26. Carman Hindle 27. John Morris 28. Wilbert Trotter 29. Mathew Morris. , IHS543
ID
ourstories:8569
Year
1913
Title
Dunkerron School, S.S. #1
Description
S.S. #1, Dunkerron School. Teacher was Miss Jean Moran. Back Row, left to right: Cecil Creighton, Mabel Scott, Marjorie Kiteley, Myrtle Ferguson, Hillary Scott, Albert Scott, Violet Scott, Katie Graham, Alda Murphy, Miss Jean Moran, Claude Irwin. Third Row: ? Feaver, Harold Lepard, ? Feaver, Wallace Feaver, Alameda Fisher, Mabel Davis, Lizzie Lewis, Unknown, Unknown, ? Irwin, Ted Scott, Percy Irwin. Second Row: Ruby Patterson, Johnny Lepard, Unknown, Unknown, Unknown, Minerva McManus. Front Row: Jim Davis, Bill Scott, Meredith McManus, Mildred Ferguson, Jean Ferguson, Harry Lewis, Harold Scott, Joe (George) Major.
ID
ourstories:6189
Year
1906
Title
Lefroy Public School 1906
Description
Lefroy Public School 1906-07 Front row: (L to r) Byron Grose, Aubrey Ardill, Cecil Grose, Percy Taylor, Roy Graham, Winnifred Graham, May Gulston, Willie Gulston, Grace Gulston, Helen King, Mildred Gilpin, Helen Gilpin, Jessie McCullough, Della Wood Second row: Willie Graham, William Atkinson, Murray King, Edith Wood, Irene Grose, Vivian Grose, Edna Graham, Bertha Atkinson, Mabel Ardill, Muriel Adams, Hazel Morton, Lillian Whan, Thomasene Sproule, Eva Whan, Christina Jamison (visitor) Third Row:(l to r) Gertie Gilpin, Lila Adams, Edith Gulston, Gladys Ardill, Agnes McCullough, Mildred Todd, Evelyn Gilpin, Mary McCullough, Stella Ardill, Annie Wallace (teacher), Charlie Gulston Fourth Row (l to r): Robert King, William McCullough, Norman King, Elmer Woods, In left window: Harry Gulston, Fred Gulston, Fred James In Right window: Burleigh Douse, Arthur Sproule, Earl King Costumes , IHS514